The GM Diet : My Experience & Result

I am genetically pleasantly plump and so a chronic dieter. I don’t remember being thin ever in my life. I was a stick when I fell sick but I was in no position to enjoy my thinness, in fact I hated looking at myself like that. 

After my kidney transplant, my health improved and so did my size.  Now I had no dietary restrictions and eat whatever I could and I devoured every bite and every  sip. I am on steroids and will be taking them for life to keep my transplanted kidney safe from rejection. Steroids give you what they call a moon face , basically your face blows up and also make you gain weight faster than you would like. I am just giving reasons. I actually ate to my hearts content and all the medicines have added their bit and now I find myself on a weight loss program. 

As per my new year resolution I enrolled myself for a weight loss program, with a nutritionist.  I have worked with her in the past and had success with weight loss so she was a natural choice. 

As we started with my plan, after a week or two she put me on GM Diet to get my system working.  GM diet is a popular diet developed by General Motors Corporations for their employees. There is a lot of material on internet for GM diet. You can read more about it from this link 

https://blog.decathlon.in/articles/gm-diet-plan-proven-way-to-lose-weight-in-7-days#article-body

I have done GM diet previously and I was ok to do it one more time as I had seen good results. I decided to start the  GM diet on Saturday and bought all the stuff needed. 

Day 1 –  You have to eat only fruits on Day 1. It was quite easy actually. I was given a list of preferred fruits and I obliged. Barring evening I didn’t feel any weakness or cravings. I was all right. I slept peacefully but around 1:30 in the night I woke up with bad acidity. I threw up once or twice and felt better. It lasted for 20 minutes and then it got worse. I had bad case of diarrhoea. For next two hours I was continuously throwing up and had loose motions. It became so bad that I wanted my husband to take me to the hospital. By 4:30 in the morning I was so exhausted I just fell asleep. 

Day 2 : I woke up feeling tired and was wondering if I should continue with the GM plan. Then I weighed myself and I saw a loss of 1 kg. The diarrhoea was worth it  🙂 I had tea and few biscuits and called my Nutritionist , she told me to continue if feeling better as the day 1 is normally the toughest and I was already done with it. I decided to continue.  On day 2 you can eat only vegetables. As she said it was an easier day. It went pretty smoothly. 

Day 3 : I saw a gain. It was disappointing.  It was all water weight loss thanks to diarrhoea. Day 3 was fruits and vegetables and I enjoyed it. It was not a very difficult day 

Day 4 : No change in the weight. Day 4 you can have 600 ML cow milk and maximum of 8 bananas.  Its a torturous day for people who hate bananas. Luckily I like bananas but still found this a hard day. It was monotonous taste wise and having so much milk and banana is not really appetising. I really wanted to cheat but I didn’t. I was looking forward for Day 5 which is a feast 

Day 5 : Slight change in the weight but nothing great. Day 5 is feast as you can have proteins and milk but the worst part is having 8 tomatoes. I don’t like tomatoes. I rarely eat them raw. I made a really thick soup and added few in my omelettes and chicken preparations. This was a good day overall. No cravings as you have a lot of options to eat. 

Day 6 :  You can have fruit in addition of Day 5 options and thankfully no tomatoes. I had slight change in the weight. I was bit disappointed with weight loss as it was not as what I had in my previous attempts. I was hoping for a better fat loss. My nutritionist has a really good body fat monitor and I was hoping to see a good fat loss. 

Day 7 : Judgement Day:  you can have rice on this day. Party time!!!! I went to my nutritionist’s clinic with great hope and anticipation. I did my body fat composition and was heartbroken!  I lost 500 grams of fat and only 800 grams of weight.  I felt like Kate from This is Us, who works hard on her diet and sees a less than expected results. The actor has nailed the exasperation of a person on a weighing day!

This result was no where near my previous attempts where I had lost 2 to 3 kilos in weight and around 1 kilo of fat. This wasn’t bad but not good either. My sincere suggestion to all nutritionist to keep a punching bag and boxing gloves in their office so clients like me can take out their frustrations then and there.  

I still feel GM Diet is a good plan and can be done for a good detox. It helps to kick start your body in fat burning zone. Results may vary person to person as every body reacts differently depending on age, metabolic rate and other health factors. 

If I have to dissect my attempt, I gave my best effort but now I am 5 years older from my last weight loss effort and have gone through terrible physical traumas. I have certain medications and physical limitations. Considering all these factors my body has really cooperated and achieve the best it could! After few months I would definitely try again!

If you like this post you will also like to read about my 10000 steps a day challenge for a month. here is the link for the same:

Published by Kavita Deo

I am an eternal optimistic person who likes to spread joy with my smile and words. I like to look at the lighter side of life and write about it.

Leave a comment